My first eBay purchase.

Recently, I discovered the exciting world of bidding on eBay. As mentioned in a previous post, I have been on the hunt for a mid-century ottoman. It turned out that there were quite a few mid-century ottomans for sale on eBay–most of which seemed overpriced, especially including shipping. However, I eventually found an affordable one that I liked.

ottoman on ebay
Photo from eBay.

I sat on it for a couple of days. Then, as if reading my mind, eBay sent me a little surprise…

FullSizeRender 2.jpg

Well, folks, I just couldn’t turn down this deal. The ottoman was originally priced at $49. I bid $44, and the seller accepted. Shipping was set at approx. $10, but with my $10 coupon, it cancelled out. So, I spent a total of $44 on both the item and shipping!

The ottoman arrived the other day. I’m pleased with it for the most part–it’s the right size, structurally sound, no damage.

IMG_3982.JPG

However, it seems to me that the ottoman’s actual color differs from the color pictured on eBay. It’s got kind of a mustard/tan vibe going on, while the seller’s photos made it seem more of a creamy ivory (likely due to using a flash rather than natural light). I was a bit disappointed about this at first, but I’ve come to accept it. I think it looks good in the space.

IMG_3983.JPG

Well, that’s all for today. Next time, I’ll post some photos of cheap school supplies I collected over the summer, as I’m in the process of setting up my classroom! 🙂

Leave a Reply

