Yard sale spoils.

Folks, the yard sale gods were on my side this weekend.

sale_1877c

I went to a multi-family neighborhood sale on Saturday morning and a single home sale today. Arrived at both of them at 8am–right at the start–and it was good I did! It always seems like everything’s been picked over if I get there any later than 3o minutes after they start.

On Saturday morning, I scored a funny sign that I plan on hanging in my classroom (only 75 cents!), and a pretty silver necklace ($3). I also picked up a great pair of brass candlesticks for $5, but I don’t want to post a picture of them here until I’ve had a chance to polish them.

sign.png
75 cent sign 🙂
silver necklace.png
Looks and feels like sterling silver. Goes with everything!

 

This morning, I picked up an imitation Fiesta™ serving plate in one of my favorite colors (only a few minor scratches), and a secondhand copy of the novel Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, by Jonathan Safran Foer. If you haven’t read it, you absolutely should.

book and plate.png
Only a buck each!

 

I also found this small dry erase board in good shape–only paid a few bucks for it! Another win for the classroom, since I only have chalkboards.

white board.png
Playing with the meme feature on my photo editing app.

 

I’d say it was a pretty successful bargain-hunting weekend! Stay tuned for a photo of the brass candlesticks in the near future.

Happy thrifting! 🙂

One thought on “Yard sale spoils.

Leave a Reply

