Karly’s fixer-upper.

Today’s awesome post is a guest contribution from my friend Karly, who’s always on the hunt for an affordable DIY project!

image.png

Karly: I scored this dresser for $20 at a garage sale! You may have guessed correctly that it wasn’t blue when I acquired it. This dresser is wood and actually had a gouge out of the top from, I’m guessing, a burn. I knew a little bit of wood putty and some paint would take care of that, so we loaded it in the back of our small SUV and headed home.

I had the wood putty and some primer on hand and bought a quart of paint from my local hardware store for about $15. I mentioned to the salesman that the paint was for this purpose, and he suggested a more durable finish that would withstand water spills (or gin and tonic, which was the hardware store guy’s specific example). We puttied, sanded, primed, and painted the dresser over a couple of days, and I am so happy with the result.

One thing I love about starting with a $20 dresser and knowing that my total investment would be $50 or less is that I could make this a statement piece without any downside. Sometimes it’s hard to shell out $500+ for a new piece of statement furniture when you’re not sure how long a trend will last or how long you’ll love that color. I like having the option to be fickle and repaint it on a whim. (For the record, this color still continues to make me happy every day so far.)

I left the original handles – I love them! I also have to mention that the top of the dresser showcases a trio of $1 buys: the tiered plate for my jewelry; the gold tray; and the lamp. I found the plate and lamp at separate garage sales and the tray at an antique shop. The two small books were a gift, and the mustard yellow candles came from IKEA.

Nice work, Karly! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Karly’s fixer-upper.

  1. Margarita Mikhaylova July 22, 2016 / 9:46 am

    Karly is the re-purposing hero! Love the contrast of the yellow candles with the blue dresser, and the candy dish as a jewelry holder is genius and charming.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kevin July 24, 2016 / 11:23 am

    I love these trash to treasure stories!! Thanks for finding treasures and making the blog come alive with your posts and guest posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • at a steal. July 24, 2016 / 11:47 am

      Thank you for the compliment! 😊 🙌🏽 The blog is super fun, but I’m running out of treasures ($) so I may have to start posting less. 😕 Or maybe write from a different angle.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

