DIY decor.

Here’s the deal. I’m really interested in photography, but I can’t afford a high-quality camera. So I take pictures with my iPhone and then painstakingly doctor them with my app until I’m satisfied.

I’ve seen a lot of criticism hurled at iPhone photogs–criticism that seeks to undermine the merit of their photos. Well, all I can say is that I like my pictures. And while quality-wise, they may be lacking in certain aspects, I legitimize them because I find them artistically pleasing.

The point of this post–and there is one–is to encourage you to display your own creativity in your home, in whatever form that may take. Showcasing your own artwork not only saves you $$$, but it fosters a sense of personal accomplishment. I don’t believe it to be vain, and I haven’t met anyone else who thinks so.

Here are some of my photos that I’ve framed and hung in my home.

image.png
Top left & right: Baltimore, MD. Bottom left: Lancaster, PA. Bottom right: Wadi Rum, Jordan.

I’ve received tons of positive feedback from friends and family who have visited, and it just makes me happy to see my own work on display. In terms of affordability, I buy my frames from IKEA and print most of my photos using an app called Postalpix. You select the photos directly from your phone and they mail the prints right to you. The quality is pretty decent, in my opinion, and the cost is minimal.

Don’t hesitate to comment or send me a message if you have any questions about printing or framing your own creative work. Also, feel free to check out more of my photography on my Society6 page.

Happy decorating!

Leave a Reply

